Jon's Page

By Jon_Davey

Croquet anyone?

An international croquet match between Scotland and Wales, down on the Meadows in central Edinburgh. This was part of the Festival of Sport and even got a little bit of media attention beforehand, although it hadn't brought the crowds flocking along to match, at least not while I was there. All the players were very friendly and did their best to explain some of the complexities of the game. They were playing the more complex Association Croquet - something like billiards on grass - rather than the simpler Golf Croquet or US Backyard Croquet. I have played it a few times before, and I think it must have always been with 'backyard' rules as the thing I remember most was putting your foot on the ball while you blasted an opponents ball just where they didn't want it to be! That sort of thing doesn't happen in the other forms of the game.
I did see the end of one game, although the second was still going when I left. They had a full weekend of games, in different combinations. According to the internet, Scotland won 8-5 at the end of two days competition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.