hopscotch

By tkt

kokoro

We went to a local Art Fair today and had a fine time. We bought a dish and a bowl from our friend Theresa, who makes striking table pottery, with two color glazes, incised designs and excellent shapes to create upon. Her work is unique, at least as far as my experience goes. I knew that many of you would enjoy it as much as we do, so I made about a dozen images. Many of these were good and one was excellent and that, of course, was the one I was eager to share.

In the back of my mind, however, was a nagging doubt, so I went back to the fine print. Sure enough, Blipfoto?s rules of engagement clearly (and, I disappointedly concede, quite appropriately) forbid posting photos of other people?s art work.)

So you are stuck with mine! It is not to be compared with that of Theresa, or even with what I sometimes managed, years ago, when, enthralled with all things Japanese, I studied the language and literature in grad school. But, my goodness, it was fun!

We had been visiting family in Seattle a few months ago, you see, and it did not take much to persuade them to go down to a weekend Japanese Cultural Festival. It was a wonderful day, filled with exhibits and demonstrations of flower arranging, martial arts, tea ceremony, Japanese style cooking and, my great favorite ~ calligraphy.

The sponsors had even had arranged for any of us that wanted to try our own hand at this beautifully expressive brush writing to be able to do so. Lots did, so there was a long wait, but my turn finally came. The teacher sat me down, but western style, and gave me a book of samples to consider. I chose *kokoro*, which means *heart.* I told her how long it had been since I had done this and she re-taught me as a beginner.

First she reminded me how to hold the brush, then she held my brush hand in her own while guiding it through the prescribed pattern, and then she let me do it myself. It did not flow quite as freely as I had hoped and remembered, but what a feeling!

That ink was SO black, the paper so white, the flow of the movement so beautiful, expressing the meaning, that I smiled and smiled and, really, nearly laughed out loud!

If there had been a way to keep on learning this at home, I surely would have. So, please, do not drum me out of the club, I would have kept on keeping on with this, but, the thing is ~ I suddenly found myself thinking: *This is MORE FUN than photography!!!*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.