OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Water Avens Reflections

An inland walk today. I went to Cottascarth in Rendall. A ruined cottage has sheep-dipping pens by it and I photographed these avens reflections in one.
I sat in the bird-hide nearby for a bit. A few birds...red-throated divers, arctic skua, short-eared owl, ravens. It got sunnier so I left and walked down by the Burn of Dale. Lots of flowers; meadowsweet, birds-foot trefoil, purple vetch and mouse ear hawkweed etc. Willow scrub protected fuchsia and honeysuckle. The fuchsia will have self-seeded from some cottage garden, the honeysuckle is natural and one of my favourites, but the scent isn't at its strongest in the middle of the day.

I joined the track at the farm of Blubbersdale. That name is a corruption of Blaeberries or Blueberriesdale. It would be nice if the name got 'uncorrupted' back to the original . A single female hen-harrier circled high overhead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.