Pixel Art

By pixelart

Traditional 'Filter Kaapi'

I am back from my short and sweet trip to the extreme southern tip of India. It was pretty exciting. Enjoyed a mixed bag of weather conditions. I will back blip about those 2 days very soon. Meanwhile, I am back at my hometown. My vacation continues here with more fun time :)

For us here in South India, especially in Tamil Nadu, the day has to start with a traditional homemade filter coffee called "Kaapi". It is made from dark roasted coffee beans brewed with a special metal device called filter. It is traditionally consumed by adding a cup of boiling milk, served hot and frothy in a traditional tumbler and dabara (a wide metal saucer).

A well made filter kaapi can really make your day! People here just don't need a special reason to enjoy kaapi. They take it as an energy drink, fun drink or just a time-pass drink to relax themselves. I love sipping a nice hot cuppa kaapi by the window, especially when it is raining outside and that is what is happening here everyday ;-)

If you happen to visit South India anytime, don't miss our special Filter Kaapi ;-) !!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.