Barking

By Barking

Bananas

For some of you, the fact that we have a banana tree just outside our apartment mightn't seem like much of a big deal but to me it's amazing. It's changed in the time we have been here.

Today was a bit of a lazy day. The pixies were at school all morning. I raced down to the morning market and grabbed a pain au raisin and a petit café noir. Then back up the hill to school to observe an English lesson. I can't believe how different teaching is here to in New Zealand, I'm glad I live where I do. It was great to watch a fellow teacher doing what she did and it was a very interesting lesson.

Then I came back to the apartment and packed my suitcase. This afternoon, I went down to town with some of the kids and bought a few gifts for nearest and dearest. I realised around 5 pm that I hadn't taken a single photo all day. I went outside and photographed these bananas. I thought it was about time to take a photo of them as I've been watching them all week.

One more day. Tjibao Centre tomorrow, then finalise the packing and get up at 4 am on Wednesday. Then home sweet home. Can?t wait - I miss home and I miss my puppy. Hopefully only a couple of days and Canterbury will be home too. The whole family together again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.