a town called E.

By Eej

Of gators and baby birds ...

Yesterday evening, as we walked towards Maple Lake, we spotted an alligator in the water.

A plastic one.
And, according to a fisherman, weighed down and anchored so it wasn't going anywhere. It looked hysterical.
As I had already posted my Blip of the day, we decided to go back this morning to see if there was a good shot in it. I was already writing it all down: global warming, Michigan ... it was going to be my bestest Blip ever.

During the night, the poor gator had sprung a beak-leak though and it looked miserable. Waw.

I fed aaaaaaaaall the ducks and geese and went to work.

Co-worker: "I want to show you something!"
Me: *expecting cute picture of co-worker's baby daughter*
Co-worker: " We found it on the ground"
Me: *looks* *sees tiny naked baby-bird* *squeals*
Me: "I'm NOT taking it home!"

The nest it had fallen from is behind the siding, above a huge door. The opening to it is so small, we don't even understand how the adults get in. There is no ledge to put the baby on. We are helpless. I am helpless. Eventually we find a spot where hopefully she can be taken care of. It must be a she because it's a feisty little thing.

Today's photo is one of ducklings who are doing juuuuust great. They have a mum, food, everything they need. I'm sure of it. Pfffffffff.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.