Adda

By Adda

Saturday ride

that day of the week again that I look forward to, all week. The plan was to meet in front of office and then ride up to a lake. I snoozed the alarm twice, turned over and dozed off. A friend from work was supposed to pick up my old bike for the ride and she called up. But for her call, I would've been happily sleeping while rest of my buddies would've been enjoying the ride. I checked the time and got back on my feet. Less than an hour later, I was at the office gate where two others were already waiting for me.

We had a good splash of rain yesterday and the evidence was all over the place. There were puddles of water everywhere and all the dirt tracks were converted into mud-tracks. I rode through the water, a fellow rider thought it would be wiser to negotiate the mud instead. One cannot see what lies beneath the muddy water, and there's always a risk thrill of hitting some big stone and losing control of the bike. I held on to the handles firmly and saw myself across the puddle. The 'wise guy' was not that lucky :) He had a fall and had mud all over his hands and the handlebar. No damage done though. Today's ride was quite interesting and pleasant. We rode to a place that I've been to earlier but today it was an altogether different experience. The weather was most suitable and we could have been on the saddle for ever. Heavily overcast skies and a wonderful breeze - one doesn't mind even if it is against.

Back home in the afternoon now, I pulled a chair in the balcony and got myself seated, with legs on the railing. Mrs Adda is enjoying her post lunch siesta and that gives me a couple of hours for myself. The weather is just great outside. If someone could've have made me a nice cup of hot coffee it would've been just perfect. It was raining a while back and I wanted to just sit and enjoy the rain outside. I see the green patch, wet tennis and basketball courts from the balcony. Though it is a pleasant sight but suddenly I yearned for more. I wanted the balcony or the bedroom window to open to the views of mountains and woods...a mountain stream and maybe, a small playground. Wait - that was exactly the scene from our window about 15 years ago. Oh how I loved to watch and listen to the sound of the stram gushing through the slopes of the hills. It was a monsoon stream...in other seasons, it used to be dry. Sometimes I feel like quitting my IT job and go settle somewhere in the hills and probably take up a simple job in some tea estate...

I think I'll go make some coffee myself...

Yay! it is raining again...and I have my coffee with me :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.