A year in focus

I must admit I'm no good at sticking at things, so for me, a year of taking photographs is quite an achievement. In some ways I feel as if I've been attached to my camera for ever, but then again it only seems like yesterday that I had the discussion over a bowl of mussels about joining this community.

The recent thread about the purpose of using this site made me consider my own motives: there is no doubt that looking through my own images has proved a brilliant reminder of what happened each day and looking at them transports me right back to what I was doing and how I was feeling. This has been a difficult year for me personally and taking photos has been a fruitful distraction.

My wish to develop my photography skills (beyond photos of cakes, flowers and insects) has been well-documented and without this site I doubt I would've been so quick to treat myself to a new camera and laptop to replace the limited quality of my Olympus and the unbelievable slowness of my pc, which in the early days of uploading was very irritating. I suppose I do, to some extent, use the writing to keep people posted of my movements though really only with fellow blippers.

Apart from taking my own photos - which can be more trying when I am just going about my humdrum daily routine - I love looking at everyone else's journals not just for the great pictures but for the writing too.

So thanks all at Blipcentral for all the new things happening on this site but also to all my subscribers and everyone else who drops in for a wee look.

Blimey - my longest write-up ever. Time for a lie down.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.