Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

The first, and last rose of summer

I was inspired by SeaUrchin to go and take a look in the garden this morning. I haven't been out there for many weeks, and - joy of joys! A rose!

I have never attempted to grow roses before, and my friend Iseabail bought me this what seems centuries ago. From time to time she asks me how it is faring. I have to say every time that there has not been a blooming bloom in evidence.

Iseabail, along with 7 others, is coming to dinner tonight, and I am so pleased to be able to show her this one bloom, even though it is looking a wee bit the worse for wear
(lots of wind and rain last night).

So many thanks, SU, for getting me into the garden - I could've missed this momentous occasion altogether!

Now, I must get off Blip, and into the kitchen. I'm doing a Chinese banquet tonight, so there are several courses to get ready - beef in orange, pork Singapore noodles, lemon chicken, spicy seafood, sweet and sour something or other as well ...... and chocolate parfait to follow. Iseabail and Bob are staying over, and we hope (weather permitting) to walk round the coast past the lighthouse to Ivor's bothy tomorrow. I hope that this comes off, because I haven't been to the bothy since I started blipping, and look forward to sharing it all with you.

Byeeeeee!

P.S. I've just realised - I'm quite a happy person again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.