horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Seriously... WTF???

Advert spotted in today's newspaper. Basic message appears to be, with a Land Rover you can see over walls n' stuff so you're, like, closer to nature. Car size as a claim to ecological thought. Here's an alternative though. GET OUT OF THE LAND ROVER YOU LAZY BASTARDS!

I like driving. Hell, I love driving. But if I want to see everything around me I get out from behind the windscreen. I use these appendages called legs. I spend time. I appreciate. But Land Rover, it would seem, reckon the great outdoors is something best experienced through the windows of a Chelsea Tractor.

"Dahling, what would you like to do today?"

"Well I was thinking we could go for a trip to the countryside."

"Okay, I'll go and grab my wellington boots, the countryside can be awfully mucky."

"No need my little pot of marmite, I've traded in the Merc for a Land Rover Freelander 2. Those walls will no longer stop us appreciating the greenery around us."

"And I have no need to get muddy!"

"I know. Why didn't we think of this before?"

It's a pity you can't complain to the Advertising Standards Agency for an advert being so moronically stupid that it offends your sense of logic so much it makes you gnaw off your own foot.

Not stopped much today - settling down to the Tour finale, then dinner, dessert and tomorrow's lunch to prepare. Busy-ness meant the only other potential blip was from the Figgy wander on the way for the Sunday papers with the above-hated advert, and the cygnets growth spurt.

Completely forgot yesterday to link to a picture of my bike (after going on about it shepherding me to the East Fortune Airshow), or a morning shot of the busy birdfeeders, or a juvenile Blue Tit hanging around...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.