horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Spit the Plane

A day I've been looking forward to for a while, and as usual it almost ended in disaster. 4 miles out of the door on the bike and my rear tyre let go in dramatic fashion. A three inch tear wasn't going to the patchable. Phonecall to Mel to get her to pick me up, then a second call to say I could walk to the nearest bike shop to get a new tube - and as I did that an old chap on a club run stopped and gave me a tube. Restored my faith. Wouldn't even tell me his name so I could thank him properly.

Anyway, it's been a while since I've ridden even over 10 miles (it's a long while since my max of 125 miles in one day), so the 40 odd miles today (in about 2h30m) confirmed a few things. I'm not as fit as I used to be; I'm not as unfit as I thought I was; beer is the perfect antidote after 18 miles of persistent headwind coming home.

There's an airshow set with 24 other photos in there if you fancy, the other possibles that almost made it to blip were Aerostars Turn; Skyraider; Vampire; Catalina.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.