horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

You Mink!

When I was at school 'Mink' (or 'Minker') was a term of abuse meaning someone who was scruffy, poor or unkempt. I have no idea why.

Today's lunchtime wander brought this bittersweet sight. They're lovely looking beasts, but they're not a native species (coming from North America), and they're pretty damned destructive when it comes to other animals on the river. I fired off a few shots before a group of four people I'd passed earlier caught up and he spotted all of us and dived away to who-knows-where. I then became an impromptu wildlife guide, explaining about the dangers Mink pose (after initially correcting the suggestion it was an otter - much too small and slender for that). And would you believe I forgot to mention the new EdinburghWildlife site???

All of which means you get another wildlife shot, and the image I had the camera set up for this morning goes into the blipbank (it also meant I almost didn't get this as I hadn't changed the settings before going for the walk and the first shot gave me a massively over-exposed shot - wound down from f22 and 1/3rd of a second just in time for the Mink turning and heading along the edge of the bank towards me - he couldn't have posed more obligingly).

Work is still busy. Life is still stressful. But moments like this make me smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.