Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Courtesy Car

Well, it has to happen every year, I have to take my trusty little motor to get its MOT test and have all the bits fixed that are broken. Since there is no public transport where we live and the cost of insurance on a loan car is considerably less than the taxi fare home I always have a courtesy car while mine is being checked over.

This year I had a brand new SX4, which only had 438 miles on the clock when I borrowed it. When I got in it was FREEZING, and I had to open the windows to warm up before I discovered that it had air conditioning (my car doesn't) and I needed to turn that off! It was quite a nice motor though, although I usually like my cars a bit smaller!

I was psyching myself up for a large bill (it's been about £1000 the last few years) and wondering whether I'd be able to persuade the garage to accept my John Lewis chargecard as payment, but, AMAZINGLY, the car passed rather easily (just one lightbulb, on the numberplate, needed replacing), so I'm rather pleased!

While the car was in, I had an hour-long phone interview with the benefits service to determine what I'm entitled to now that my job no longer pay me SSP and I shall soon be out of work completely.

And now, mid-afternoon, I'm in the midst of changing the bedding (doing it twice a week at the moment since the weather's so muggy) and cleaning the bedroom!

The Wonderspouse & I have decided to celebrate our little car's achievements with a Chinese takeaway tonight - after such a busy day as today I shall certainly enjoy it! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.