Plus ça change...

By SooB

Different world

After the usual morning of sorting stuff in the house (Council Tax inspection, trying to stick the dishwasher door back on) we headed out to explore. First up: the appropriately named Shell Bay, where we strolled through barley fields, watching kestrels hover overhead, down to the bay for a walk along a lunar landscape of rocks, then a very seaweedy beach, and on to a causeway to a secret island. "Looks like the tide's just on the way out so we should be fine to cross" we proclaimed with our famous marine knowledge.... We were wrong: five minutes and six wet feet later (Conor is small enough to be carried and Katherine, though light enough, was already wet) and we were safely back up in the dunes. We crossed a wonderful wildflower meadow, alive with small birds (Mr B confidently identified them as buntings, but I think he was making it up on the basis that no-one present knew more), colourful moths and hoverflies. It was a handy start to the home education nature trips I have planned, as we identified several different flowers and talked about the philosophy of reproduction (don't ask).

Then on to Elie, and a different world again. I'm not sure I heard one Scottish accent the whole time we were there. In fact I had to remind myself that it wasn't Cornwall (the chill wind helped...) We had a brief ice cream stop, which was really all we could take of the place. I think we'll come back out of season, once all the loud folk barking into mobiles about how WONDERFUL it all is have left. More 'yah' than 'aye' at the moment.

Anyway, these lovely well-spoken teens were throwing themselves off the end of the harbour wall. It was actually mid-afternoon, but the camera settings were all wrong, so I let myself go with the funny effect. I even removed a mast mid shot that was annoying me. I feel power-crazed.

Home for more tackling the house action, a fab Mr B dinner and letting the kids stay up waaaaay too late watching Doctor Who. An exciting day out tomorrow: my going into Edinburgh for the life.turns launch is being combined with a trip to Ikea. I don't know which to be more excited about.*


*I do really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.