LightFran

By lightfran

Love, lost ...

Oddly, on this occasion I got the shot because I didn't have my camera with me! I will explain ...

After breakfast at the hotel I'm staying at in Geneva, I took a walk around the block to see if I could spot somewhere nearby for dinner - the hotel restaurant always make me feel like a leper for dining on my own : "Table for ONE Madame?" and then they make a big song and dance about taking the second set of cutlery on the table away! That kind of prejudice doesn't bother me, but I thought I'd have a quick look for a slightly more relaxed, friendly place for dinner tonight!

Anyway, I spotted a building under demolition. When I walked past this graffiti was intact and the 'digger crane' (don't know official construction terminology!) was attacking the structure lower down. By the time I had trotted back to the hotel, waited for the lift and negotiated my way around the maid cleaning my room, and back out again, the team were 'having a go' at the graffiti. A much better photo opportunity!

I took over a hundred shots before this one - the sky was really overcast though. I had just got back to the hotel entrance thinking 'I've got the best shots I can get under the circumstances' when the sun peeped through the clouds, so I trotted back down the road and round the corner and took a second batch of photos!

Generally, the weather was not in my favour today. I walked from my hotel up to the Inter-Continental late this afternoon for a meeting (camera at the ready!) and it was gloomy and overcast the whole time. A shame as I wanted to get some bright sunny shots of the flags at the entrance to the United Nations building and the funky 'multi-fountain' outside. I'm going home tomorrow, so maybe on my next visit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.