Digging 13: Posh House

All my Digging series has concentrated on my area of the site, so far... naturally enough, as I'm heads-down-go-for-it in my own little kingdom, most of the day.
A couple of days ago, Hinden asked for more info about the site, so I wandered over to the North-East corner this lunchtime, where most of the exciting non-skeleton action is happening.

OK, I can imagine that this doesn't look very "exciting action", but the quality of these remains is quite exceptional, really!
To the left, you can see a doorway, which gave access to a cellar of a very substantial house originally built by the Duke of Hamilton in the late 16th century. Ground surface at the time is shown by the setts cobbling the area above. Where the shovel and mattock are sitting, Michael just uncovered another area of cobbling, a path leading down towards the door.
I hope EZ-Highway will note that the wheelbarrows are looking considerably more used and battered than they were :)

Speaking of whom, it was great to catch up with EZ, gillie and bugsman from Florida, last night. Even if they do type with a strange accent ;)
Also a real treat was exchanging greetings with the marvellous Cabbagetree! Everyone was so thrilled that she would log on at some ungodly antipodean hour to join us at the life.turns launch-party last night.
Lots of other blipchums joined in, too; sorry that I couldn't spend the whole evening chatting on the webcam, AND with people there in real life :)

I had my usual problems with trying to get the touchscreen to work for yesterday's blip, and the confusion of getting in position by looking at a videoscreen where everything is reversed was not helped by a long day in the hot sun, followed by a couple of glasses of wine ;)
Glad that people liked my subtle and understated shirt, though .....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.