a town called E.

By Eej

Sadness


I spent most of the afternoon chasing hummingbirds around the feeders with my camera. This might be where my Powershot fails most magnificently; fast flutters in low light. Last year I managed two decent shots and while those were pre-Blip and don't count, I'm hopeful I'll get something useful this summer, possibly by setting up underneath the buddleia.
I adore hummingbirds. They are THE best thing of summer. Having one hanging in the air in front of me, as happened a few times, makes me gasp for air and afterward I feel blissfully content.
I guess that's what swimming with dolphins is like. Maybe. Sort of.

After dinner I found this poor bee on the gate, in its last breaths. So, SO big that I probably wouldn't have dared to get this close if it had been healthy. Odd, that after yesterdays Blip about stages I'd find this. Though, I found a dead squirrel on the road wednesday. The Beloved was so kind as to not let it lay there, because the thought of people driving over it (and they would) made my cry hysterically.
I guess it's just one of those weeks where the universe messes with me :/

On a much, MUCH happier note: as I missed out on the Ohio-meet with Sam, Skip and Deb, I'm happy to announce my own Holland-America-meet tomorrow! I have three presents for three little girls ready to go :) Excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.