All that I'm after...

By AllThatImAfter

A Blessing

"It's only when we truly know and understand that we have a limited time on earth -- and that we have no way of knowing when our time is up -- that we will begin to live each day to the fullest, as if it was the only one we had."
~Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

It was as good of a day as could be expected to follow the last. I awoke to a phone call informing me that my relative is doing quite well. She is not her normal self but is happy and no long at death's door. Both my mother and I wonder if this is but a temporary reprieve and she will falter again soon. We do not know. Even if that is true, the family will be there with her, which is more than most of us get.

Work went rather well. I had great patience with the teaching today, something I've lost in the last year or so. Things worked and people smiled. I found myself in a strange state of disconnect which hovered over me the rest of the evening. It has been building this past week and as of yet I have no idea how I will get past it.

Still, I left work and witnessed a "sunbow" I suppose. It had not rained, but the sun and the clouds conspired to allow the colors of the sunlight to be seen. It was brief and precious, much like life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.