Apple Roll

On Sundays I bake bread- loaves and rolls. These days I use machines to do the hard work. For my son's work lunches I make ciabatta rolls each week, and a date and walnut loaf to last him two weeks. I also make a light loaf with rye and wholemeal added to white flour, and a similar batch of dough (this time with wheat germ) for rolls. Plain rolls are useful for lunches and sometimes I make a big hamburger roll. I love home-made hamburgers. As well as plain rolls I made raspberry jam and coconut rolls for my son, and for myself this delicious apple roll. It is filled with rich, unsweetened Cox's Orange apple puree, cinnamon, sultanas and walnuts. I pack the date and nut loaf and the rolls in individual portions and put them in the freezer to keep fresh.

Today has been another gloomy nor'westery day, with spitty showers and occasional rainbows. However, unlike yesterday's bitter chill it was mild, as a nor'wester should be. I'm told that it wasn't cold in Christchurch yesterday and they had sunshine.

Edit: As requested here is how I made the Apple Roll

The dough was made in a breadmaking machine. For my one person roll I used a third of a 3 cups of flour batch. Roll the dough to approximately 10x8 inches or 25x20 cms.

Spread with thick (not sloppy) apple puree. I prefer the rich tangy flavour of Cox's Orange, which I prepare in the Autumn and store in the freezer. However, any well flavoured apple will do, and you could add sugar if you prefer. You will need to cook it with as little water as possible.

Sprinkle over a little cinnamon, and a generous scattering of sultanas and walnuts.

Starting on a short side roll the dough carefully, keeping the nuts and sultanas in their places. Don't roll too tightly. A dab of water at the far end will help seal the roll. Pinch the ends and lift the roll into a buttered loaf tin. Use scissors to snip cross cuts along the top.

Let it rise in a warm place for an hour or so and then bake it for about 20 minutes at 210 degrees C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.