Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Arm-crossed Lovers

First, a big thank you for all the wonderful comments yesterday and best wishes on my reaching 200 blips.

Today is the birthday of Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead who was tragically taken from us 15 years ago. Riverside marks this anniversary and his death, which occurred on August 9, 1995, with the China Cat Sunflower Fest.

It's a chance for ageing Deadheads, such as myself, and not so old Deadheads to gather and listen to cover bands playing the songs that I have listened to during the good times and the bad during the past 40 years.

In 1994, I had the good fortune to travel from England to San Francisco, and get a back stage pass to three concerts at the Oakland Coliseum. I also interviewed Bob Weir and Vince Welnick. The former interview appeared in Mojo magazine along with a couple of my photographs.

Following that visit, I received every CD released by The Grateful Dead for review in my newspaper, The Birmingham Post. Of course, that freebie came to an end when I moved to the United States.

Today's gathering afforded many photographic opportunities amid the sea of tie-dyed t-shirts and dresses. With some of the people, it was a little sad to see that they could not let go of the 1960s. I often consider myself to be something of a dinosaur these days but in comparison with these people, I look positively mainstream.

But my pick, and that of the CEO and CFO, was this shot of togetherness.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.