the fort wall...

this was something that I've been really looking forward to. I've been to this place last year and had absolutely loved it that time. This time, I wanted to take Mrs Adda there. This time we went when the rains were thicker. It had already been raining for over a week when we reached there. The group this time was bigger and younger. Barring a few 'repeaters', it was the first time experience in that place for the rest of the group.

Being a second time visitor to the place, I thought it would be fun to go without a local guide and try to figure out the route from memory. 1 year is not that long a time and it is not that I am getting older rapidly. Rest of the 25 folks in the team didn't question the decision and simply decided to follow me. But when we're in the jungle, everything looks same and yet looks different. At every split of the trail in the jungle, I stood confused and like a true wild creature, simple trusted my instincts. Not all of them turned out to be correct though. I wanted to take the team through a waterfall where we had most of the fun last year. But a wrong turn in the jungle and we completely missed it. Later at another point, I decided to go right, which didn't turn out to be the 'right' turn. I, along with a trusted fellow trekker-cum-biker buddy were leading the troupe. We heard some voices and walked towards them, with the intent of getting some directions from the villagers. As the voices turned into figures, we found 2 village men following about 10 hunter dogs. The dogs took a few steps forward and prepared to pounce on us. Both of stood still, with our hands raised up in submission. The masters took control over the beasts just in time and we let our raised hands fall down in relaxation.

Later that evening, we scaled up the fort (which I still maintain is the most beautiful fort that I've ever seen in my life). Entire fort and the surroundings were covered in thick mist. Visibility was reduced to just a few meters. As we sat at the edge of the fort, overlooking a deep gorge, it felt like hanging in mid-air. Scenes from last year started running in front of my eyes like a motion picture. I felt like I had gone back in time and it will start it all over again. All the stories of joy, sorrow, passion, pain would be re-lived. All heights would be re-scaled and obstacles re-conquered...But it was not so. Life has come a long way since I sat on that fort wall last time...and that's probably the beauty of life...

Like many of my previous treks, even this time, there was a dog who followed us. But this time not all the way through. Probably he didn't feel comfortable with so many people around. But he did took a pit stop and sat with us just to admire the view and then go his way.

continued...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.