Adda

By Adda

the Western Ghats

continued from here

I woke up with a heavy head and a bad cold. yesterday's rain and then sleeping on the concrete floor took a toll on me. In the morning, I was slower than anyone else, doing things at my own pace. I was so slow that I failed to see the stairs, lost my balance and fell straight on my face against the concrete floor. I got a bump on my forhead and burning sensation in my nose. That grounded me for a moment but the impact on the nose magically cured the cold. I was back on my feet and ready for another rainy day ahead.

We had a long walk ahead of us today. Especially with such a big group, it is easy to get carried away in the beauty of nature and completely lose the sense of time. We had a train to catch and the walk to the station was about 6 hours long. The walk though, was through the beautiful jungles, hills, plateaus and greens of the Western Ghats. There were waterfalls all around the hills and innumerable streams across the jungle trail. There was so much water everywhere that one starts to wonder where all this water comes from and where finally it ends up. A mystery of nature which sure is not easy to unearth. There were some streams that barely crossed the sole of our shoes and there were some where we had to wade through high-current knee-deep waters. Walking through thick rain for 2 days, wet to the core, wet backpack on the back, soggy shoes and still people were going crazy at the sight of streams cutting across the trail. It was funny to see people cross the stream, drop their backpacks on the grass and jump back into the water, not to get out ever. We literally had to pick people up and drag them out of water. Taking a dip in the mountain river and then getting up just to get water splashed all over you from all directions so badly that it becomes literally impossible for you to breathe - that's an experience that one cannot have everyday. One of my friends commented - "it is funny that people spend thousands and go to water parks, come back and claim that they had a time of their life. Those people should be brought here." With time, we've got so used to fake and pretense that many of us have lost the taste of authenticity.

Mrs Adda seemed to have a time of her life. Walking up the streams, climbing up trees overlooking deep gorges - she was in her elements. For her first trek, she did wonderfully well. Though I am sure that for the next few days, she would be using the elevator rather than taking the stairs :)

It was in the middle of such beautiful place and waterfalls that I saw these two kids standing by the road, looking at us with curiosity. Pixel Art and I were ahead of the rest and had just a few minutes before the group would catch up. I got my digicam out of the pocket and quickly snapped a couple of pictures of these kids. Then I took out two chocolates from my reserve and held it in front of their faces. There was no curiosity, no smile, no hesitation. They very casually took the chocolates from my hand and held them firmly in their fist. There was no explicit gratitude either - probably, there wasn't any that was required.

When it comes to monsoon, I cannot imagine a place that can get more beautiful than the western ghats. Once someone has tasted the sweet rain of the western ghats, is addicted for life. I have been savouring the addiction for 3 years now each time it gives me a new high. This year's monsoon is not over yet. There are places yet to be explored!

pictures from the trek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.