Jens

By jens

Joel

Before saying goodbye to Robin in the evening I went downtown to give away a tarp that I don't need anymore.

I saw Joel looking for cans in a trash bin and offered him the tarp.
I planned not to take a picture of the person that I would give the tarp so I wanted to go my way - but Joel started talking to me.

Joel is a Metis who was born and raised in Calgary. In 1966 he got adopted. His stepparents came from Poland and the Netherlands. Joel's father served in the German army during World War II and came to Canada in 1950. In Calgary he opened a bakery in Bowness.

Joel lives on the street for 5 years now - he didn't want to talk about the reasons for that. When Joel is picking bottles like today he sleeps on the street rather then in a drop in center. He says that the main drop in center which holds beds for 600 people is very violent and not a safe place to stay. If he sleeps in shelters than in the ones that hold only 150 people and are not in the city center.

Joel also loves rock music - he listens to CJSW radio as often as he can and even has a banner of that station around the shopping cart where he stores his bottles.

PS:
I also updated my entry from last friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.