FauxPunk

By FauxPunk

Books

I love books. As much as (or maybe more than) the words inside them, I love books. There's something magical about the printed word that you don't get from a computer screen, and there's something about a bound volume that you don't get in loose-leaf sheafs of paper!

This is one of the 'posh' shelves - some of the little that's left of my time studying English Literature in Dundee, and a few personal favourites. We didn't have room for books when we first moved to Wales, so the rest are in my mum's attic in East Lothian. One day I'll have space to get them back down!

My guilty secret? Yes, I love these poets, and I love studying their words... but when I just want to read, to be entertained (which, let's face it, is the primary purpose of writing & reading) I devour Stephen King, Anne Rice and great entertainers like that, who are not renowned for their literary merit. Shocking, isn't it? But the truth is, without those entertaining writers, I never ever would've wanted to study English, and probably never would've encountered these more 'high brow' chaps.

Monday morning was terribly lazy, I did hee-haw. Then off to work, where I did tonnes, got my head down and got on with stuff that needed doing. There's still stuff that needs doing, but in about a shift-and-a-half I'll be back up to speed and free to do some of the 'nice' stuff :)

Football Manager has really gripped me again... finished the season yesterday, at club level I won the Euro Supercup, World Club Championship, League Cup, FA Cup, premiership & Champions League. Start of the new season, 2 games in... I've drawn against Hull & Southampton. Go figure, eh? Also... got Scotland to the quarter finals of the European Championships, where we were put out by Italy (who went on to win it).

Got home at half 11, and realised I hadn't taken a single photo. Not much was happening, so after I'd eaten some lovely gorgonzola pasta with asparagus (prepared by Mathew) I set off for some emergency blipping.

Mathew wasn't feeling well all day, so once I had some pics (once it became Tuesday, and new pics were no longer eligible) I decided that I could wait until the morning to blip, and we had an early night instead (by our standards).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.