Photo a day for 2010

By kusasi

Someone Keeps Moving My Chair

Well that might explain the posture of the six blokes, if not the two gulls, all dressed in white and poised for action, looking in the direction of a small red projectile out of shot in today's photo.

The context is that today I worked from home, meaning that I was done with my day and ready to start my evening at 5:02 rather than the usual 6:25 or so. I just wanted to do something I haven't done for 25 or 30 years, and this was my one and only chance, to go down to the Cheltenham Cricket festival and watch Gloucestershire play. When I was a boy I used to go down at the end of the day and try and get in free. Of course I wouldn't be so cheeky now I'm a responsible adult, would I?

So I parked my car round the corner, walked into the ground, smiled at the stewards and walked in for free, and was lucky enough to catch an hour of cricket. A good day for my county, Gloucestershire, as they amassed over 300 runs for the loss of just 4 wickets, and I witnessed opening batsman Porterfield dismissed for a career best 175 runs.

Today's photo shows the Worcestershire slip cordon poised ready for a catch which didn't come their way. Another more atmospheric shot from today can be seen here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.