Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

In memory of....

I went to the churchyard in Humshaugh today to find the gravestone of Stanley Dalton. I had not heard about him before, but he was a young man who was murdered near to Limestone Corner on Hadrian's Wall.

I met Norman who was cutting the grass around the graves. He is a fount of local knowledge, having lived in the village all his life, but he had not heard of Stanley. He did show me the grave of Tommy Dewar, a tramp who came to the village every year and sharpened knives, scissors, etc. That is another story. When he died his dog, Snowy, stayed on at the vicarage for the rest of his life.

Back to Stanley. I have photographed the text on his gravestone. The stone is a grand one, with a large cross above the base stone. You can read more about the case:
Murder of Stanley Dalton

The text reads Sacred to the memory of Stanley Dalton who met an untimely end at Limestone Bank 11th Sep 1926 aged 21
"In the midst of life we are in death"
Erected by subscripton as a token of sympathy

Tomorrow I must go and try to find the stone in the wall which marks where he died.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.