Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Enough is Enough

This was the only photo I captured today. Every morning . . . if Mr. Fun leaves the house first, I stand upstairs and wave to him. This morning he almost forgot to wave because there was a car coming from behind him. When that car pulled on around and kept going, Mr. Fun backed-up to wave to me.

On the mornings when I leave ahead of him, he comes downstairs with me and walks out onto the driveway as I slowly accelerate my car out of the garage and then out the driveway and I'm gone . . . blinking my tail lights at him till I round the corner.

Now isn't that sickening. Yeah, it is, but all of our married lives the "goodbye" in the morning and the "hello" in the evening have been immensely special.


The "Enough is Enough" title today could have also been written as "Busting the Myth of 3 Philosophy." Last week when I announced that my brother-in-law had died, several of you were hoping (as we were) that the old tale that bad things come in 3's would end anymore bad news. Well . . .

Our daughter (the one who got 2 new puppies this past Saturday) phoned today slightly after 10:00 a.m. to let me know that they had just been to the vet's office with the oldest of the family dogs, Patches, a Jack Russell/Wire Terrior mixture that our daughter rescued almost 17 years ago.

The vet's heart-felt encouragement was that Patches' time here on earth was completed, so my daughter and son-in-law this morning said goodbye to one of the cutest little dogs, who hardly seemed liked an animal. He was just so much a part of our family. Patches had lived here in this house with us the year that our kids lived here from August of '94 to August of '95. After they moved out and into their home, for the first several years when they would come here to visit, Patches wouldn't want to leave. He thought this was home. I also always thought Patches thought I was the "mom" in this gathering of people. I loved him like my own.

We knew that Patch wasn't going to last much longer, so why did this rip me up all over again? I could hardly utter the word "goodbye" when my daughter finished the phone call. I sobbed the rest of the morning.

Mr. Fun's brother died last week, and now 3 special family dogs have died this summer -- Bob dog on June 3; Katie on July 2, and Patches today. Enough is enough! Would everyone please say outloud, "Enough is enough!" Thanks.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.