Flying-leap

By flying

King of the Garden - the Boss!

Today I spent the day 'getting to know my camera'.
 
I put apple and bread out and waited for the birds to come.  The blackbird came first, then the little sparrows and wax-eyes.  The wax-eyes darted between the camellia branches just waiting for their chance to eat while the sparrows surrounded the blackbird and took turns darting in towards the food.  The blackbird spent more time chasing the sparrows than eating and ended up flying off leaving the sparrows and wax-eyes to dine together. Then there were 3 urgent chirps and they all took off - the cat was coming!
Also to the garden today was a very quiet thrush, just pecking away and not bothering to join in, its been a while since a thrush has visited.

While all this was happening I was taking photos, some were good, some were horrible and some needed work.  It was a day of trying different settings to get a crisp sharp shot with detail. The light was forever changing from dull cloudy weather to bright sunshine.  I think I know my camera a little better now.

I made a collage of the blackbird in Photoshop but lost my dates in the process so I didn't blip it.  I must get this sorted as I was really happy with it and now a little disappointed, not to worry I think this is a pretty good shot of the King of the Garden.

Friday tomorrow and the weather is supposed to be the worst yet for the weekend, snow down to 500m which probably won't be where I live but its getting close - it will be very bitter.
Must away now and organise some tea, marinated chicken, stiry fry veges and rice, be back soon :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.