Through my lens, Willis

By Willis

A Driver's Dream

I wanted to try my hand at making a city empty. I started with a very busy highway then said the magic word "Photoshop" (also "Twin Pines" in my neck of the woods) and made all the cars disappear...

Enlarge

Caution Tech Stuff:


The way I did this was shooting 7 lock down shots holding the camera solidly down on the cement overpass. All shots were taken with the same manual settings. Back in Photoshop I put each of the 7 pictures into it's own layer. For all but the lowest layer I added a mask to each layer. The masks begin life as all white so everything in the upper most layer shows and none of the lower layers show at all. With the mask selected I start painting with black everywhere there is a car or truck. The black in the mask makes those blackened areas transparent. This now lets those portions of the next lower layer shine through. You keep painting out cars and trucks in all the layers. What you are left with is an empty road because with so many shots you are bound to have captured road only. Fun to do...

Here's a typical picture with cars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.