Mum and I

Mum survived her surgery.

We're not out of the woods and all the doctors in the family are cautionary, but I think she is surprising everyone.

The tumor that ruptured her bowel has been removed along with the ascending colon. The lab will do the histology on the tumor. We will cross that bridge of meaning when it comes. Antibiotics for doing the business on the peritonitis and her readings are good.

I've been able to talk to Mum this afternoon. She sounded drunk and now I know what I've sounded like post-major surgery! While I couldn't fully understand or follow what she said, it was wonderful to hear her voice, more wonderful than I can express.

My sister is sorting anything that needs attention from the hospital and looking after Dad.

We take it a day at time. Sometimes I reduce that to an hour at a time. I'm finding the distance difficult but I'm probably most helpful there when she goes home. Should I need to depart in a hurry, I'm prepared.

I'm learning to live with with this, to make space for it and listen. There is wisdom to be discerned at times like these.

Sleep has been my friend this afternoon, a very good friend indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.