On My Doorstep

By bwhere

An Hawaiian God

This small figurine is a representation of the Hawaiian God, Kukailimoku, cast in metal. I found it in a road-side Antiques Shop in the town of Captain Cook on the Big Island of Hawaii. We had been staying at a memorable hotel called the Manago.

Kukailimoku, the war god of King Kamehameha I (or "The Great"), means "snatcher of islands". Kamehameha was the unifier of the Hawaiian islands. It is said that he was present when Captain Cook met his death in the unfortunate incident (for both sides) at Kealakekua Bay on the Big Island.

It was after that contact with Europeans that Kamehameha became the Ali'i Nui or King and set about unifying the islands under his rule.

The owner of the Antiques Shop asked us if we knew we were very close to British territory. We said we didn't and he explained that the patch of coastal land where Captain Cook died was so designated.

It was after acquiring the figurine that we went to Kealakekua Bay. It is a place with great impact.

I trust that I have not misrepresented anything here. If anyone with greater knowledge of these aspects of Hawaiian history would like to add anything I would be most grateful. I have learnt more about spirituality and religion and its manifestations in man from Hawaiian history than from anywhere else. For this I am most grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.