On My Doorstep

By bwhere

A Hazelnut

A lot of hazelnuts grow on our bushes but we do not usually get to harvest any. They are invisibly spirited away by the squirrels. Months, even years, later we find them buried just beneath the garden's surface. We 've got a walnut tree as well and although we know that walnuts have started to grow on it they disappear in the same way. It wouldn't matter so much if the squirrels were more obliging with photoshoots but they are very secretive, they harvest what they can in our garden and withdraw.

I couldn't really face blipping today and I certainly couldn't face removing the colour from this photo in order to continue with my black and white series. It is strange the way that the urge to blip ebbs and flows. It has ebbed at the moment.

But I should be thankful that this hazelnut and a ray of sunshine worked their wonders on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.