Thomas ten Cate

By ttc

Flying to the Finish

Sports events like the 4 Mijl van Groningen, one of the largest running events in the country, are ideal for photographing people without getting strange looks. I took some 250 pictures but when I shot this one I had a feeling it was going to be today's blip. The feeling was right for a change.

It is a pity, though, that the background tends to be very cluttered in these kinds of pictures, and often the colours are not very pretty either. A wider aperture could help in blurring the background and bringing the real subject more into focus. However, it also requires that you have an awfully fast autofocus, which I don't, or set the focus manually in advance and shoot while the subject runs through your focus plane.

But as colour does not really add anything in this case, I opted for a small aperture and grayscale instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.