Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

A Marriage Made in Cavern

Today we visited the National Show Caves on the Edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park. Its a curious mix of caves, dinosaurs and mock iron-age village with an animal park attached. I've nothing against diversification, and it certainly attracted the crowds, but I couldn't help thinking it was an odd mix.

These were all distractions from the main event as far as I was concerned - The caves. A number of different caves can be explored, all easily navigable for the averagely able human. The pick of the bunch was the aptly named cathedral cave, complete with underground river and waterfalls.

I rested the camera on top of one of the metal railings to take this shot of one of the waterfalls. In this light, a long exposure is a must and I'm pretty pleased with the result.

At the far end of the cavern, a modest area is set aside for those looking to marry in a hole in the ground. I found it a quite strangely appealing potential venue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.