Without the aid of...

Despite Mr 77's wee photo tour of the Royal Mile, I'm still undecided on how to conduct myself and my camera during the festival. I think safety in numbers sort of muddied the waters yesterday even though rain reduced me to just the 3D shots I managed while standing on top of a large refuse bin but I still feel awkward trying to get photos up on the High Street in the throng of all the other photographers about.

I actually put on my zoom lens yesterday but didn't really feel like using it. I think I just felt I would be too detached from my subject if I was to use it. Don't get me wrong, this isn't a criticism of people that take this approach, too a point, but I think the posts of things that caught my eye were the performers that aren't doing the huge crowd drawing things but just presenting themselves one on one with the general public. I think personal preferance makes me want the subject to know the are being photographed in this situation.

Today I was working down in other-office, further from the festival shenanigans so only ventured up to Princes Street. This is a group of 5 Korean singers called Uangel Voice and were performing outside the gallery on Princes Street, singing a variety of classical and popular songs in an operatic tenor style. The songs originally penned in English that I recognized were definitely in some other language which I assume was their native but they were bloody good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.