MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Old Laundry

So I might be cheap. When I first moved into this apartment, the laundry facilities in the basement were "free," and I was sooo excited I wouldn't have to deal with quarters again. It's more of a pain trying to access so many quarters weekly- especially when you don't want to go to the bank constantly. But earlier this summer, the washer broke, then the dryer, and soon both were replaced. With coin operated equipment.

I thought to myself, well, it's hot out this summer. I have a porch where I could hang a line. Line dried clothes typically smell a lot nicer anyway. Then I'm saving quarters AND saving all the energy it takes to heat up air and spin clothes around. So far, my endeavor has worked really well! I somehow have managed to be at home when necessary on nicer days so I can kind of monitor the line. I'm still a bit paranoid that more rascally neighbors and passers-by will attempt stealing my undies or something. But I've probably saved $20 just by avoiding the dryer. My landlord thinks I'm protesting (HE didn't want the coin operated laundry, after all) but while it started out that way, it's ended up just being a pleasanter way to live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.