Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Who Are You?

It's a hopeless photo but it's what I've been busy with today.

I've inherited the family photos which were in the loft at my parent's place for years. That carrier bag on the floor contains the big prints that were taken at photgrapher's studios. There is another large bag full of small prints and around fifteen albums.

I'm scanning them so that they are safe for future generations as many are in less than perfect condition. I've also made a website for them which I'm probably going to redo but there are so many photos, some going back to the 1890's.

I've scanned around a thousand so far, with my own family photos still to come.
No time for digital restoration - if we ever use any of them we can restore them then.
There are a lot of faces that are unknown to me or my siblings, some we know but can't remember and my parents' memories are not good nowadays. Next step is a French translation so that our cousins can help us put names to faces.

They bring back a huge amount of memories and I wonder about the ones I dont know; what were they like? How much of them is there in me or my family?
You can see the site here: Family Album

Who knows? We may be related!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.