The Bottom of the Well...

Just a couple of weeks after I got my present mobile phone, the screen cracked. I tried panning this off to my mobile operator and Nokia as bad phone design to get either of them to replace it. To no avail. Turned out it only cost about £30 to replace the screen. Since then I've been really careful until today.

I work on the 4th floor (you can maybe see where this is going) and was heading out for lunch trying to carry too many things at once. Guess which article, whilst I was trying to coerce into my pocket, made a break for it? Yep indeedy, above mentioned mobile phone.

Not only that, it bounced on the carpet and neatly ricochetted into the small gap between the wall and the side of the stairs. That gap goes all the way down to the basement.

I felt like I was dropping a coin into the well listening for the splash which at first I guessed at at least 2 floors worth of gravitational acceleration.

Turned out that it only managed 1 floor and luckily enough, was completely intact. I have a new found respect for the thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.