britni

By britni

Swayambhu

Today was very, very eventful. This morning Danny and I got a tour of the small temples around Thamel and the surrounding areas of Kathmandu by a very friendly guy from India. The temples here are so colorful and ornate. They seem to be very pervasive and important in the local culture.

The afternoon was spent working in the hospital and just getting oriented about how things work.

Later we went to Swayambhu. One picture really cannot do this place justice, because there was so much to see! There were a lot of monkeys! I sort of wish I had bought a tour book or something because it is sometimes difficult to grasp the importance (cultural, historical, religious) of everything I am seeing.

Anyway I'm exhausted. There is word of a strike tomorrow. It'll be interesting..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.