Fi

By Fi

History

There was lots of activity on Krakowskie Przedmiescie today, with massive billboard images of Lenin and Josef Pilsudski being erected to mark the 90th anniversary of the 1920 Battle of Warsaw. I think it's tomorrow. This is the frame holding Lenin's image. Wojna means war and Swiatow means worlds. I'm not sure if it's the Polish Army Day too - but that could be linked to the same piece of history. (History hasn't ever been my strongest point, but I'm interested in it - and there's plenty of it in Poland, but probably better if I don't try and explain things with the little knowledge I have) So with that, and all the demonstrations about the cross outside the Presidential Palace, as well as Assumption Day falling tomorrow, and a Hindu parade taking place, Warsaw is a very busy city this weekend.

It's been a pretty perfect Saturday though - with the exception of a bad head this morning, but that's another story - that started with being on my bike by 9.30am, a breakfast al-fresco at Cafe Kafka, a bike ride across town to get my nails done, a lazy lunch with Maja afterwards and then another leisurely ride along a different route, through Saski Park and down to the Old Town, which being another beautiful and hot summer's day saw masses of people out. I met up with work folk for a (soft) drink before they went on for dinner this evening, choosing instead to have an quiet one and an early night.

It's SO hot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.