Today's the day

By sheilwill

The Four Adventures of Richard Hannay

Today's the day ....................... that I finished my book

What am I going to read now?! I've been reading this one for weeks and so enjoying it but this afternoon I sat in the garden and read the final chapter of the final part ........

I got it in the wonderful John Buchan museum in the little village of Broughton in the Scottish borders. It was very second hand and it cost £8. It's actually four books in one because it is the adventures of Richard Hannay (a sort of James Bond of his day) and comprises - The 39 Steps, Greenmantle, Mr Standfast and The Three Hostages .

They are set around the time of the 1st World War - and inspite of the language being a bit dated and probably not very PC for modern times, I found the stories fast-moving and full of suspense.

I hate finishing books - it's a bit like losing a good friend - until you get into the next one ...........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.