Portrait of a Grave

Henry James was an American-born author who spent a large part of his life in England. James is probably best known for his novels Turn of the Screw, Daisy Miller, Portrait of a Lady, Wings of the Dove and Washington Square, several of which have been made into films in recent years.

I'm not sure why he is buried in Cambridge, Massachusetts after having become a British subject one year before his death in 1916.

"Life is a predicament which precedes death." ~ Henry James


______________


On another note, while making this addition to my "famous graves" series today, I killed three birds with one stone, so to speak. Buried a few plots down from James is writer William Dean Howells, known for his novel The Rise of Silas Lapham. I don't expect many people to have read it unless they were also an English major in the US. (And I only have a vague recollection of reading it myself.) Here's his grave. I also snapped a shot of the grave of Julia Ward Howe, who is best known at the author of the "Battle Hymn of the Republic." She's buried in the cemetery across the street from Howells and James.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.