Tending my Mother's flowers

I didn't anticipate what it would feel like to arrive at my parent's home with no Mum in it.

Her touch is everywhere from stones hauled back from glaciers and beaches at the other end of country artistically arranged in the garden, to pot plants and flowers in the garden.

I tried taking photos of architecture and palms as I waited for Dad to have a test done but they left me cold. During our visit with Mum I tended her vases of flowers as she has shown me through the years.

Mum had a hard time over night with a couple of things done to her and another small procedure today. While a shock to see I was able to have a helpful talk with the charge nurse then explain to Dad what I knew. Mum is stable but not making expected progress. Hopefully we will see her brighter and improved tomorrow.

Hard though it is, it is a privilege to be a daughter. I did Mum's hair, applied balm to her lips and gently put moisturiser on her face. Dad and I left feeling a little better than when we arrived. "It's a roller coaster" I remarked. "Yes" said Dad.

This is one of Mum's orchids. They are exquisite and I felt more comfortable photographing them once we were back at their place.

(Thank you for your kind thoughts, wishes, prayers, beams, comments etc. The day just goes and I haven't had time to look or comment. I think that will be the way tomorrow goes too).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.