The daily trip

It's roughly a 1/2 hour drive each way from my parents home to the hospital, sometimes more, sometimes less depending on traffic and the time of day. I've done it twice today.

Yesterday's tubes and what not were gone and Mum had better colour. I spent a lot of time caring for her feet. They are so swollen none of her slippers or socks fit. They were so cold to touch I wrapped them in a blanket and made sure they were supported.

There is a history to Mum's feet despite her many years of careful management of diabetes. I'm alarmed that despite having had that conversation with nursing staff, and care of her feet included in her 'care plan', it isn't happening.

I've been back tonight with new slippers. They worked and transformed Mum. I didn't think I'd ever see my mother delighted to be wearing a pair of men's slippers but she is :-) I supported her and she walked up and down the corridor, her feet no longer so pained or cold. (Walking helps to reduce the swelling in her feet and legs).

I helped her work her way through ablutions, tidying up etc and made sure she was comfortably tucked up in bed. I could see the difference it makes to have someone there who can give her time and help with the little things.

Despite the promises and acknowledgment of the afternoon, her feet still hadn't been attended to. I made sure they were checked by her nurse and ointment applied as required. I presume this will be in her notes.

I took this shot from the car as Dad drove home late this afternoon from our first trip. Bad weather is brewing as the sky suggests. Tomorrow could be a shocking day of rain and high winds but I'm determined to visit Mum. I need to know her feet are being cared for. Just the little things like drying her feet properly.

I have no idea what we're facing with Mum's surgery, but I know the moments I have with her now mean everything. And really that's all that matters, being in the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.