RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Antique Jail Door

Today, I experienced inspiration from another blipper. Diptych posted a door with a hand from her photography work in Egypt. Very impressively done.

However, it made me think. I remembered a door like this and a story behind it as well. So, off I went to try and find it - alas, before the light was too dim to shoot, I found this door that I had remembered, and snapped away.

Now, I certainly don't want to copy (nor would I believe I could come close to the beautiful work she does in Cairo on a daily basis with Scorpionkiss, but I loved her story about the hand. Was there common meaning? Had someone traveled to Egypt and perhaps saw the door there and came back to recreate one here? It is somewhat of a mystery.

I've been told that this door (there are 3 in a row, but only one blue one with a hand), was part of a historic jailhouse near a Spanish Mission here in California. The doors had been in storage for quite some time and were brought out to decorate a side street in an open-air shopping center.

Enjoy this image, but also appreciate how we inspire each other - from across the globe. What a wonderful community of folks!

View large.

Peace.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.