John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Watery Leap!

This is my grandson Max, taking a running jump from a large rock at Bearcamp Pond in Tamworth, NH, where we're spending a brief family vacation. He will land just to the right of the rock, in about 2 1/2 feet of water.

Bearcamp Pond is a small lake with a modest beach where my family, relatives and friends have swum for generations. My family spent a couple of summers in rented houses nearby, before buying our own about two miles away, where I spent my summers as a teenager. Among many who enjoyed the warm water here was Norbert Wiener, a very eminent colleague of my father's at MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), whose house down the road was one of those we rented. Wiener and my father used to hold lengthy conversations between swims, doubtless on deep scientific subjects.

(Backblipped the next day)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.