floridahaunts

By shutterbugsue

Anhinga In Flight

Anhinga. also called Snakebird, American Darter, Darter and Water Turkey.
The name comes from the Brazilian Tupi language meaning devilbird, or snakebird. The Anhinga is a protected species in the United States they are
the least concerned because they are in abundance. They are known as the best
freshwater divers. They are about three feet long from the tip of their beak to the tip of their tail. They build their nest in trees and the female lays up to three to six eggs both parents incubate the eggs. They grow up so fast than within two
weeks they know what to do if danger threatens. They usually go out on their own
at about six to eight weeks of age.
Sorry to those I normally send comments to but my Blip and internet have been terrible for a couple of days now. A notice from Blip today said it had the right to
remove me? Then later it let me in. That was a shock I did not think I had done anything wrong. I think it is just some kinks in the internet. Hopefully I will be able to comment. It has taken me a couple of hours to just put a few in this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.