Treegonk

By treegonk

Deterrat

Last night I was sitting blipping and a sort of scratching noise started to come from the cooker. The noise was coming from the oven and the baking tray that lives there was moving. I sneaked up on it and a little shadow moved in the darkness and disappeared. I heard some scuttling underneath and then saw a little tail disappear down a hole in the floor boards beside the cooker.

So I blocked up the hole with rolled up newspaper and went back to the computer.

A few minutes later, I heard the newspaper being rustled - the intruder was obviously trying to gnaw his way out. I think this part of the underfloor must have been a dead end, and I got more annoyed with the newspaper noise than the oven noise, so I removed the paper to let the little thing escape. In the morning, the baking tray had been cleaned of all the little burnt-on bits of cheese from my several pizza meals. Thanks mousie.

Ratten now sits on the cooker in a pan as a deterrent to future visitors and I have washed the baking tray.

Have to apologise for not commenting on peoples pics so much - been a bit tied up with car business and there are so many people here now, I am finding it hard to look at everyone's entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.