Grey rain and coloured shoots

Ah, so someone's said it then:

"This capacity to wonder at trifles - no matter the imminent peril - these asides of the spirit, these footnotes in the volume of life are the highest forms of consciousness, and it is in this childishly speculative state of mind, so different from commonsense and its logic, that we know the world to be good."

~ From Nabokov's The Art of Literature and Commonsense

Cycling in the rain, that's all I did. It has become my preferred mode of transport to work. Even with the mud splashing all over me, little grains rolling between my teeth, arms spattered, mocking the bath taken minutes back, I pedal on. It just makes me happy. It just demands a few more baths in the day even when the weather is cool and wet, but so be it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.