Thomas ten Cate

By ttc

Sunset

I had the weirdest dream last night.

I was on holiday with my parents. We were camping out in the woods, when suddenly a messenger arrived, telling us that the treasure had returned to the enemy camp close by. My dad and I decided to go out and reclaim it. I grabbed my short sword, which hung from the front of the tent; the long one was still too heavy for me. We wondered whether we should set out on foot, because it would be dark soon. In fact, we could see the setting sun through the trees. But that was strange, because we were in the shadow! Then I noticed that this was not the sun, but the moon; the sun was a little bit further along the horizon, equally large, equally bright. Then suddenly they were both very close together, and they were huge, as if we were grasshoppers looking up at a basketball. "Wow! That'll make an amazing blip!" I tought, so I ran into the tent to grab my camera and tripod. When I had set them up, I realized that the moon and sun would not fit into one picture, especially not now Jupiter was in between them. So instead of taking a picture, I went into the camera's menu to set it to panorama mode. I realized that autostitching was going to be a bitch, because the sun, the moon and Jupiter were slowly but visibly spinning. BEEP BEEP! BEEP BEEP! BEEP BEEP!

BEEP BEEP! BEEP BEEP! BEEP-- Whack.

It is a shame that I didn't manage to take even one picture. Mankind will never see a show like this one ever again. By now, of course I realize what is wrong with this dream. The panorama setting is on the mode dial, not in the menu.

And here, almost, but not quite, entirely unrelated to that dream, is a picture of tonight's sunset.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.